Satchel

Teachers

Find articles, help, and advice for getting the most out of our platform.

     

    Manage users


    Last Updated : Nov 02, 2018 15:11 GMT

    General account information

    This section allows you to view and edit the personal details of users at your school. Administrators are able to:

    Manage teachers: give admin rights, reset password

     Top tip: Clicking on a student's name will allow you to see more information such as Insights, their homework list, their Gradebook, and homework calendar for that student. 

    View and edit personal details

    Send a welcome email to new starters or help users reset their passwords. You can click on  Edit to view or edit personal details such as a user's name and email.

    Note: When editing a student's profile, their year group, registration group and linked classes will also be visible. Manual schools can delete and add classes for individual students but MIS-managed schools will not be able to edit these here.

    Roles and admins rights

    You are able to change the account type of a teacher or staff member. Click on  Edit beside their name and in the side panel, select the correct role at the top and save. The changes will take effect immediately.

    A school administrator can enable the 'Make admin' option to give admin privileges to other Teachers or Staff members, or disable it to revoke them.

    Create new accounts

    For schools with an MIS integration, new users will be automatically created during the nightly data imports.

    Manual schools, i.e. those without an MIS integration, will be able to create new accounts by clicking the Create button and filling in a user's personal details.

    To create additional parent accounts for a student, go to Manage students and click Show code. Alternatively, click on   to print a login slip which you can give to the parent. The parent code can be used to create five parent accounts for a student before it expires.

    Delete leavers

    Users that have left the school do not get automatically removed from Show My Homework.

    For MIS-managed schools, users that no longer appear in the nightly data imports will have their names crossed out to indicate that they are leavers. 

    User-added image

    To make it easier to manage those that have left you can:

    • Check the 'Show only leavers' option 
    • Apply additional filters, e.g. 'Year 12' to quickly remove student leavers at the end of the academic year.
    • Click on the checkbox on the top left corner to multi-select.
    • Select the matching results from all pages which makes removing large groups of users a breeze.
    • Select Actions > Delete to remove their accounts. 
     Please take extra care and make sure the list is correct, as the deletions are irreversible.

    Disable accounts

    You can suspend a user's account by temporarily disabling it; no personal or homework data will be lost with this change. Disabled users will not be able to login or access the site and can be re-enabled any time.



    Thanks for your vote.

    Was this article helpful?